Elman Family Professorship
Professor Kai Lung Hui
Associate Dean for Research
Deputy Head and Chair Professor of Information System, Business Statistics and Operations Management
Director, Risk Management and Business Intelligence Program
Co-Director, Dual Degree Program in Technology & Management
Co-Director, MSc Program in Financial Technology

Digital transformation is in full swing. A wealth of information is available at the touch of a button, and virtual communities allow interaction around the globe. Yet with these opportunities come mounting challenges, from the global economic losses caused by cybercrime to threats to users’ privacy on Facebook or Twitter. Leading the crusade to tackle problems in the virtual world for real-world impact is Professor Kai Lung Hui, whose pioneering research on IT, policy and society seeks to maximize social welfare while reaping the benefits of technological advancement.

Having obtained both his BBA (First Class Honors) in Information Systems Management and his PhD in Information Systems from HKUST, Professor Hui is one of our most distinguished alumni. His academic career came full circle in 2008 when he returned to HKUST to take up the role of Associate Professor in the Department of Information Systems, Business Statistics and Operations Management. Over the last decade, his career at the University has gone from strength to strength. He is now Chair Professor and Deputy Head of the Department, and was recently named Associate Dean of the HKUST Business School.

It is difficult to think of someone better placed to explore the opportunities and challenges posed by the rapid and unpredictable evolution of IT in the modern world. In recent years, Professor Hui has directed his attention toward the increasingly pressing social issues of cybercrime, online privacy and information security. Although dealing with inflammatory topics, his analysis—based on sophisticated analytical models and applied econometric and statistical techniques—is invariably nuanced and even-handed, showing how the benefits of digitalization can and should be weighed against its social costs.

In 2017, addressing an area often overlooked in public policy making, Professor Hui explored the “global and virtual nature of cybercrime,” which “calls for collaborative international enforcement.” Moving from the global to the community level, with concern for individual users’ privacy, a 2018 article examined the novel area of peer disclosure online, taking “an important first step towards shaping a healthy online environment for social interaction.”

Professor Hui always finds ways to incorporate his research findings and the latest policy developments into his teaching, from undergraduate courses all the way to EMBA programs. Perhaps the best illustration of this productive research–teaching nexus is HKUST’s new MSc program, co-directed by Professor Hui, in the burgeoning area of Fintech. 

Beyond the University, Professor Hui has served on the editorial boards of a range of prestigious journals in his field, most notably Information Systems Research, and received several awards for his contributions to teaching, service and research.

However, his contributions are by no means limited to academia. Professor Hui is a firm believer in applying theoretical knowledge for the good of society, and industry and governments around the world have benefited from his consultancy. Keenly aware that in an increasingly connected age, researchers must find diverse channels for research impact, he writes regular op-eds for local and international audiences that bring his quantitative insights to bear on policy issues ranging from university education to cooperation between academia and business on scientific development.    

These are just some of the ways in which Professor Hui offers innovative solutions to ensure that society can thrive in the Information Age.

艾礼文家族教授席
许佳龙教授
工商管理学院副院长(研究)
资讯、商业统计及管理学系副主任及讲座教授
风险管理及商业智能学课程主任
科技及管理学双学位课程主任
金融科技学理学硕士课程主任

当今数码化全速发展,浩瀚资讯唾手可得,而虚拟群组则促进国际互动。然而,这些机遇亦带来迫切的挑战,不论是网络犯罪导致的全球经济损失,还是Facebook或Twitter用户私隐承受的风险。许佳龙教授在资讯科技、政策及社会的创新研究既谋取技术进步的好处,亦探求最大的社会福祉,领导研究,解决虚拟世界的问题,在现实世界產生影响。

许教授是科大杰出校友,在科大获资讯系统管理学工商管理学士(一级荣誉)及资讯系统学博士学位。2008年,他重返科大,出任资讯、商业统计及营运管理学系副教授。过去十年,他在科大的事业不断发展。现為该系讲座教授兼副系主任,也是商学院副院长。

资讯科技在当代飞速演进,变化莫测,许教授是探讨随之而来的机遇和挑战的最佳人选。近年,他的研究重点為日益迫切的社会问题,包括网络犯罪、网络私隐和资讯保安。虽然这些课题敏感,但他的分析建基于复杂的分析模型和应用计量经济学及统计技术,既深入细緻亦不偏不倚,展现数码化的好处应如何权衡其社会成本。

2017年,许教授关注常被遗忘的公共政策制定,探讨「网络犯罪的国际及虚拟性质」,提出「呼吁国际合作执法」。国际以外,他也关注社区,如个人用户私隐。 2018 年,他的创新研究探讨朋辈在社交媒体披露他人的个人资料,迈出「重要的第一步,為社交互动营造健康的网络环境」。

许教授更把研究发现及最新政策发展融入教学,从本科课程到行政人员工商管理硕士课程。也许箇中表表者可说是科大因应迅速发展的金融科技而首办的理学硕士课程,由许教授出任课程的联合主任。 

许教授亦担任多份着名学术期刊的编委,如《资讯系统研究》。他在教研及服务的贡献為他带来多个奖项。

他的贡献并不囿于学术领域。他深信学以致用,贡献社会,世界各地的工业和政府因而受益于他的顾问意见。他深諳在当今日益紧密相连的时代,研究人员必须寻求多元管道,提升研究的影响力。他经常為本地及国际报刊撰文,在政策层面应用他的量化见解,包括大学教育、以及大学与商界在科研发展的合作等。

此皆為许教授的部分工作,展现他提出创新解决方案,确保社会在资讯时代可以持续繁荣的贡献。