Liwei Huang Professorship in Business
Professor Abhiroop Mukherjee
Associate Professor, Department of Finance

Professor Abhiroop Mukherjee's vision of research and education has unwaveringly emphasized the role of finance in the betterment of society—or, rather, of societies. Having studied and worked in India, the U.S., and Hong Kong, Professor Mukherjee has been fortunate enough to learn first-hand how different societies work, and has applied this understanding to the study of finance-related issues.

Professor Mukherjee joined HKUST's Business School in 2010, after completing his Ph.D. in Economics at Yale University, under the supervision of professors Nicholas Barberis (Chair), Robert Shiller (awarded the Nobel Prize for Economics in 2013) and Andrew Metrick. Since then, Professor Mukherjee has sought to determine how our understanding of finance can be improved by making more realistic assumptions about societies, in which people make mistakes and institutions don't work perfectly.

In 2019 alone, Professor Mukherjee contributed several co-authored papers on topics ranging from the impact of road connectivity on poor villagers' access to credit to the effect of superstar firms on college students' choice of majors. The former paper asks whether finance helps to improve the lives of the world’s poorest people. The latter reflects Professor Mukherjee's deeper interest in the effects of attention-grabbing events on human decision making. For example, he and his co-authors show that the extreme success of a "star" firm (such as Facebook) can inspire students to choose a particular major (such as computer science), only to realize later that most graduates from that major eventually end up in far less glamorous workplaces.

Further testifying to the high esteem in which Professor Mukherjee's scholarship is held by his peers, his articles have been published in all of the top three academic journals in finance: the Journal of Financial Economics, the Journal of Finance, and The Review of Financial Studies. His research on pressing contemporary issues such as data transparency, says Professor Mukherjee, is intended "ultimately to study a mechanism to solve real-life problems." To increase transparency, he explains, "many traders have started using alternative sources of data," from satellite images to social media. His co-authored article "Eye in the Sky: Private Satellites and Government Macro Data" presents an innovative approach to determining whether recent technological advancements, such as commercial satellite-based macro estimates, can provide an alternative to government data.

Yet if real problems are indeed to be solved through research, researchers must disseminate important insights beyond the academic community. To this end, Professor Mukherjee's research has been covered by the World Bank, Forbes Magazine, the Brookings Institution, the Cato Institute, the Financial Express, and the South China Morning Post. His research has also received awards from various professional societies, such as the CFA Society's Asia-Pacific Research Institute, for its contribution to solving practical problems facing the industry. Some of his work has been applied in real life by banks, hedge funds, and think tanks in both Asia and the U.S.

Closer to home, Professor Mukherjee plays an essential role in the HKUST Business School's mission of providing a world-class business education. He has received the Business School's Franklin Prize for Excellent Teaching at both the undergraduate and the MBA level, and has advised many Ph.D. students, who have themselves gone on to become successful researchers at world-leading institutions, such as London Business School, the Georgia Institute of Technology, the University of Florida, Singapore Management University and Shanghai Advanced Institute of Finance.

黃立偉商學教授席
Abhiroop Mukherjee教授
金融系副教授

Abhiroop Mukherjee教授的研究及教學願景專注於以金融為一眾社會帶來裨益。他嘗在印度、美國和香港研習、工作,有幸累積不同社會運作的第一手識見,並應用於金融相關課題的研究。

Mukherjee教授在耶魯大學師從巴伯斯( Nicholas Barberis)教授、2013年諾貝爾經濟學奬得主席勒( Robert Shiller)教授和梅特里克(Andrew Metrick)教授,獲經濟學博士學位,2010年加入科大,自此一直探究如何應用更切實的社會假設,充實對金融的認識。在現實社會中,人會犯錯,機構運作亦非完美。

Mukherjee 教授於2019年合著數篇學術論文,課題涉及道路連接對貧困村落進出的影響,以及星級企業如何影響大學生選擇主修。前者探討金融有否改善世界最貧困人口的生活,後者則研究引人注目事件對人類決策的影響,展現 Mukherjee 教授對此的濃厚興趣。他和合著的研究人員發現,一家「星級」企業(例如Facebook)的巨大成功會促使學生選擇個別主修科目(例如計算機科學),不過,大部分主修計算機科學的畢業生到頭來卻會在星光大遜的公司工作。

Mukherjee教授的研究深獲同行讚賞,其論文見諸公認的三大頂尖金融學術期刊:《金融經濟學雜誌》、《金融期刊》和《金融研究評論》。Mukherjee教授說,他研究當今迫切課題,如數據透明度,正是為了「最終找到解決實際生活問題的機制。」他說,為了提高透明度,「許多商家開始利用其他途徑的數據」,包括衛星影像和社交媒體。他在合著論文〈Eye in the Sky: Private Satellites and Government Macro Data〉 提出創見,探視最新科技發展如商業衛星的宏觀預測可否在政府數據之外提供另一參考。

倘現實社會問題確可通過研究解決,研究人員必須跨越學術領域,廣傳研究創見。為此,Mukherjee教授的見解也見於著名機構,包括世界銀行、《福布斯》雜誌、布魯金斯學會、卡托研究所、《金融快報》和《南華早報》。他的研究獲不同專業組織頒發獎項,如財經分析師學會亞太研究所,表揚他為業界解決實際難題的貢獻。他的一些研究成果獲亞洲以至美國的銀行、對沖基金及智庫付諸實行。

從研究到教學, Mukherjee教授致力實踐科大商學院的使命,提供世界級商學教育。他教授本科及工商管理碩士課程,二者同獲商學院卓越教學獎 Franklin Prize for Excellent Teaching。他桃李滿門,指導的博士生畢業後在世界著名學府從事研究,包括倫敦商學院、喬治亞理工學院、佛羅里達大學、新加坡管理大學和上海高級金融學院。