Lifestyle International Professorship in Business
Professor Anirban Mukhopadhyay
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies
Chair Professor of Marketing
School of Business and Management

With over two billion obese or overweight people globally, according to the World Health Organization, the associated healthcare costs add up to trillions of dollars. Although medical research has singled out the overconsumption of food as the dominant cause of obesity, people tend to focus on other reasons, such as a lack of exercise. This, says HKUST consumer psychology and marketing expert Professor Anirban Mukhopadhyay, leads to harmful attitudes toward the consumption of food.

A graduate of the Indian Institute of Management Bangalore and Columbia University, Professor Mukhopadhyay joined the HKUST Business School in 2004 and helped it become a global powerhouse of business education. He has since received the Early Career Award from the Society for Consumer Psychology and co-chaired the Annual Conference of the Society for Consumer Psychology. He is currently Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Consumer Psychology.

Professor Mukhopadhyay’s research indicates that consumer beliefs about the causes of obesity stem from marketing campaigns aimed at diverting attention from the problem. He provides critical insights into how food overconsumption stems from what he calls “leanwashing.” By oversimplifying the role of calories and focusing on exercise or “balanced” ways of life, leanwashed messages guide consumers to avoid thinking about the contribution of poor diet to obesity, thereby shifting attention away from food products.

Building on this ground-breaking research, Professor Mukhopadhyay provides invaluable knowledge to food industry bodies, governmental agencies, non-governmental organizations and the public. A 2016 work assessed the efficacy of different tactics to combat leanwashing, such as government intervention, social activism, corporate social responsibility initiatives and industrial self-regulation.

Professor Mukhopadhyay’s work has been profiled by news outlets such as the South China Morning Post, Huffington Post and The Times of India. An award-winning Scholar of the Marketing Science Institute and a frequent commentator on consumer motivation, behavioral experimentation and self-regulation, Professor Mukhopadhyay has had a visible impact across a range of industries. His work has led to the development of projects that have helped reduce risky behaviors such as overeating and smoking, as well as improving the early detection of childhood diseases.

Professor Mukhopadhyay’s love of his work is demonstrated by his impact as an educator. He teaches courses at all levels, organizes and collaborates on projects with doctoral students and junior faculty members, and is active in teacher training at public schools. In short, he is dedicated to making a substantial difference at the personal, local and global levels.

利福國際商學教授席
諳寧寶教授
工商管理學院副院長(本科生教務)
市場學系講座教授

科大消費心理及市場學專家諳寧寶教授善於破解迷思。根據世界衞生組織,全球有逾20億人肥胖或超重,涉及醫療開支達數以萬億元計。儘管醫學研究指出,飲食過度為肥胖主因,但其他原因如缺乏運動卻更受關注。諳寧寶教授認為,這些想法導致不良飲食態度。

諳教授畢業於邦加羅爾印度管理研究所和哥倫比亞大學,2004年加入科大商學院,為商學院發展成為全球頂尖商學院作出貢獻。他曾獲美國消費者心理學協會頒發新晉學者成就獎,也是該會年會的聯合主席。現為《消費者心理期刊》的總編輯。

他的研究發現,消費者對肥胖成因的想法,源於轉移視線的市場營銷計劃。他提出獨特見解:過度飲食源於粉飾工程,他稱此為「leanwashing」。廣告訊息經過「粉飾」後,過度簡化卡路里的角色,強調鍛練身體或「均衡」的生活模式,引導消費者忽略飲食不良引致肥胖,從而轉移對食物產品的關注。

他以這項創新研究為基礎,為食品工業、政府組織、非政府機構及公眾提供真知灼見。2016年,他在研究中評估抵制粉飾工程不同策略的成效,這些措施包括政府干預、社會活動、企業履行社會責任及業界的自我制約。

諳教授的研究獲《南華早報》、《哈芬登郵報》及《印度時報》等傳媒報道。他獲營銷科學研究院學者殊榮,也經常就消費動機、行為實驗及自制能力發表評論,在不少工業產生顯著影響。他的研究推動有助減少風險行為的發展項目,如暴食和吸煙,也有助及早發現兒童疾病。

諳寧寶教授熱愛工作,以教育工作者身分發揮影響力。他在大學教授不同級別課程,統籌並與博士研究生和初級教學人員合作研究項目,也積極為學校教師提供培訓。一言之,他致力在個人、本地及國際層面作出貢獻。