Yan Ai Foundation Professorship in Social Science
Professor James Lee
Chair Professor, Division of Humanities and Division of Social Science

Few people understand China as well as Professor James Lee does, and fewer still conduct such insightful analysis of its social history. Focusing on important questions such as “Who gets what?” and “Who are we?”, Professor Lee paints a sweeping picture of Chinese social science and learning that breaks from traditional thought and provokes entirely new ways of discovering and understanding history.

To anyone who knows Professor Lee, this level of detail and dedication is hardly surprising. He has long pioneered the use of quantitative research methods to study social science and history. Professor Lee is a co-founder of the pioneering Lee-Campbell Research Group, which brings together faculty, postdocs and students to painstakingly construct, analyze and disseminate big social science data on historical and contemporary China. This “scholarship of discovery” has already transformed understanding of the Chinese state and society over the last three centuries. A book emerging from these findings, China’s Silent Revolution: The Social Origins of Peking University and Soochow University Undergraduates, 1949-2002, inspired over 100 articles, interviews, webcasts and broadcasts in 2012 and 2013, and continues to receive media attention today.

As an expert in both imperial and contemporary Chinese history and society, the sociology of populations and genealogical approaches to the study of social sciences, Professor Lee has won a slew of accolades and awards for his research. He has earned the rare distinction of being both a John Simon Guggenheim Fellow (2004) and a Peking University Changjiang Scholar (2006-2010), and has served on the editorial boards of prestigious publications such as Late Imperial China, Historical Methods and Economic History Review. His books and monographs have won a diverse array of prestigious prizes, ranging from the Social Science History Association’s Allan Sharlin Award for Best Book in Social Science History (1999) to an Outstanding Achievement in Philosophy and Social Science award from the Jiangsu Academy of Social Science (2014 and 2017).

Education is no less important to Professor Lee, who strives to advance teaching and learning through novel pedagogical approaches, such as blended and flipped classroom learning. In a Massive Open Online Course for HKUST entitled “Understanding China, 1700-2000,” for example, he uses large historical datasets to explore three centuries of Chinese history. The course’s innovative flipped classroom format has attracted thousands of students worldwide, from Brazil to Russia. As Dean of the School of Humanities and Social Sciences at HKUST, Professor Lee led efforts to build an entire curriculum of online courses taught by School faculty and introduce data analytics tools to assess students’ interest and progress. Professor Lee also enjoys working on new projects with his doctoral students, who have gone on to promising careers of their own.

言愛基金社會科學教授席
李中清教授
人文學部及社會科學部講座教授

認識中國者甚少,深入探析中國社會史者如李中清教授,更少。李教授專注於如「誰得到甚麼?」和「我們是誰」等重要問題,為中國社會科學描繪廣濶的景象,豐富認識,跳出傳統思維的框框,啟發全新探究、認識歷史的方法。

認識李教授者莫不知他治學之精細周密和專心致志。他一直運用量化研究方法進行社會科學和歷史研究。他共同創立李中清-康文林研究團隊,凝聚教授、博士後和學生,孜孜不倦建立、分析、傳播歷史及當代中國的社科大數據。過去三十年來,這個「學術寶庫」已改變學術界和大眾對中國國家和社會的認識。研究成果滙聚而成的學術著作《無聲的革命:北京大學、蘇州大學學生社會來源研究,1949-2002》於2012 至2013年間啟發逾100篇文章、訪問、網絡報道和廣播,今天仍然受到傳媒的注目。

李教授是研究傳統中國及當代歷史與社會、人口社會學及社會科學的專家,其研究屢獲殊榮。他是少數同時獲得 John Simon Guggenheim院士(2004)和北京大學長江學者(2006-2010)的學人。他也出任著名期刊的主編和編委,如《Late Imperial China》,《Historical Methods》,和《Economic History Review》。他的著作和學術專著為他帶來多個著名獎項,從社會科學史協會頒授的 Allan Sharlin最佳社會科學史著作(1999)到江蘇省社會科學院的哲學社會科學傑出成就獎(2014 和 2017)。

李教授也重視教學。他致力運用創新教學法,如「混合學習」和「翻轉課堂」教學法,以推進教學成效。他開設香港科技大學公開網絡課程(MOOC)《認識中國,1700-2000》,運用大型歷史數據系統探討中國三個世紀以來的歷史;創新的翻轉課堂模式已吸引世界各地逾六千名學生。在出任科大人文社會科學學院院長期間,他致力建立一整套由學院教授的網上課程體系,又引進數據分析工具評估學生的志趣及進度。李教授也樂於與學生一起開拓新研究,全力支持學生畢業後建立自己的學術事業。