Liwei Huang Professorship in Business
Professor Sam Garg
Associate Professor, Department of Management

Entrepreneurial ventures are among society's most prized assets, driving economic development, job creation, and even poverty alleviation. A pioneer and world leader in research on entrepreneurship and strategy at the highest organizational levels, Professor Sam Garg offers a fresh vision of the CEO-board relationship and how boards, executives and CEOs work together to help young startups grow and then effectively evolve into publicly listed firms.  Professor Garg harnesses rich, unique and often hand-collected data on new ventures, and his work points to exciting new opportunities for research and practice at the intersection of entrepreneurship and corporate governance—all the way from starting up to scaling up and then to listing on stock exchanges.

Born in India, Professor Garg has contributed to academic and professional communities around the world. He followed his passion for studying entrepreneurship from Singapore to the U.S., and subsequently settled in Hong Kong at HKUST in 2011. He now serves as Associate Professor of Entrepreneurship and Strategy in the Department of Management. Indeed, Hong Kong, with its long history of entrepreneurship, and HKUST, an incubator for the best and brightest minds in scientific and technological innovation, offer the ideal setting for Professor Garg's decades-long research on high-growth technology ventures and emerging markets.

His co-authored book Inspire to Innovate: Management and Innovation in Asia, published by Palgrave Macmillan, reached the finals of the MCA Best Management Book of the Year Awards in 2005, and his contribution to knowledge in the last two decades has gone from strength to strength. He has won support from influential Hong Kong funding bodies for research ranging from the scaling up of Asian entrepreneurial firms to equity crowdfunding in China. He also provides invaluable editorial oversight for leading academic journals such as the Academy of Management Journal and Strategic Entrepreneurship Journal.

The scope of Professor Garg's contribution to the field is far from surprising, given that his research is rooted in not only deep theoretical knowledge but also extensive practical experience of the industry. Before embarking on his M.A. and Ph.D. at Stanford University, California, marking the beginning of an illustrious career in academia, Professor Garg had built a career working with entrepreneurial firms. He even founded his own online payment venture while still a student in Singapore. Today, he is a sought-after keynote speaker and panelist at prominent entrepreneurship events, including those organized by eminent organizations such as the Financial Times, the Asia Society, and the Hong Kong Stock Exchange. Young and mature firms alike rely on Professor Garg's expert advice—from promising startups to the time-honored community organizations such as the Rotary Club of Kowloon, on whose board he has served.

At HKUST, Professor Garg plays a critical role in designing and delivering undergraduate and Masters courses on entrepreneurship, as well as executive education on innovation and entrepreneurship. He is keenly aware of the enormous responsibility that comes with teaching and strives to create the best possible learning experience through innovation, inspiration and collaboration. After all, he says, the essence of entrepreneurial success is "doing things interdependently." Echoing HKUST's commitment to fostering interdepartmental and academia-industry partnerships, this pithy yet practical statement encapsulates Professor Garg's highly commended approach to teaching. Just as successful entrepreneurship relies on synergy between a venture's CEO, executives, and board, so students must work creatively and collaboratively across disciplines to holistically understand and solve the problems that arise in today's ever-changing world.

黄立伟商学教授席
高兆明教授
管理系副教授

创业公司是社会的重要资产,既可推动经济发展,促进就业,甚至可以纾缓贫穷。 高兆明教授是世界领先学者和先行者,研究最高组织结构的创业及策略发展,提出创新见解,探究行政总裁及董事局的关係,以及董事局、行政人员及行政总裁如何合力协助初创企业成长,进而成功发展为上市公司。 高教授运用丰富、独特、多为亲手搜集的新创企业数据,其研究在创业和企业管治二者之间,开创崭新的研究和实践机会,即从初创企业起家,不断扩展,进而在證券交易所上市。

高教授生於印度,为全球的学术和专业界作出贡献。他在新加坡和美国修读创业课程,其後於2011年加入科大,现为管理学系创业及策略管理副教授。香港拥有悠久创业历史,而科大是孕育科技创新卓越人才的摇篮,为高教授营造最佳环境,让他多年来埋首高速增长科技企业及新兴市场的研究。

他合撰的著作《Inspire to Innovate: Management and Innovation in Asia》,由Palgrave Macmillan出版,获选为 2005年 MCA 最佳管理学著作的决赛入围作品,而过去二十年他的学术贡献与日俱增。他获香港具影响力的资助机构资助研究项目,如亚洲创业公司的壮大及中国的股权众筹模式。他以真知灼见编辑著名学术期刊,包括《美国管理学会学报》及《策略创业期刊》。

他的贡献既深且广,源於他不但拥有丰厚的理论基础,也具备广泛的实战经验。他在史丹福大学攻读硕士及博士课程,开展他卓越的学术生涯,在此之前,他已为他的事业建立良好基础,常与创业公司紧密合作,甚至在新加坡读书时创办自己的网上付款初创公司。今天,他是主要创业活动广受欢迎的主讲者和小组成员,这些活动多由著名机构主办,包括《金融时报》、亚洲协会及香港交易所。新兴企业与发展成熟的公司都找他提供专业意见,当中既有前景大佳的初创企业,也有历史悠久的社区组织,如九龙扶轮社(他曾任该社理事)。

在科大,高教授设计、教授本科生及硕士生的创业课程,以及行政人员创新及创业教育,贡献良多。他深知教学责任重大,致力以创新、启发思维和合作来营造最佳学习体验。他说,创业成功的精粹乃在於「相互独立行事」,一言以蔽之其备受推崇的教学法。这正是科大推进跨学系与学术工业夥伴合作的使命所在,言简意赅,实事求是。成功创业必须仰赖初企的行政总裁、行政人员及董事局的协同效应,同样,学生必须跨越学科範畴,创意学习,互相合作,才能全面理解并解决当今瞬息万变世界的难题。