Dr Chung Sze-Yuen Professorship
Professor Ching Kwan Lee
Chair Professor, Division of Social Science

For the last 25 years, Dr. Chung Sze-yuen Professor of Social Science Ching Kwan Lee has offered pioneering sociological insights into the development of contemporary China. She has built a celebrated body of scholarly work that tracks the changing conditions of Chinese capitalism from the unique perspective of China’s working class. Her in-depth, comparative ethnographic approach has enabled her to challenge traditional thinking in areas ranging from Marxist theories of labor politics to conceptualizations of capitalism and socialism.

Professor Lee shows no signs of slowing down in her quest to analyse China’s increasingly global development. One of her current projects, for example, looks at Hong Kong as the frontier of “global China” in terms of both China’s multifaceted and powerful presence and popular reactions to it. This project emerged from a trilogy of monographs in which Professor Lee charted the rise of China as the “workshop of the world,” the diverse patterns of labor protests during the transition from state socialism to state capitalism, and the politics of Chinese state investment in Africa.

Professor Lee is an authority on globalization, political sociology and the development of the Global South, and is known for her theory-driven, comparative ethnographic methodology. It is no surprise, therefore, that her monographs have received a plethora of awards, including the prestigious Joseph Levenson Book Prize, the Alice Amsden Book Award, the Africa-Asia Book Award, and multiple Best Book Awards from the American Sociological Association. She was a member of the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, New Jersey; Stanford University’s Centre for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences; and the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars. Her insights feature prominently in the leading journals in her field, such as the American Journal of Sociology, the American Sociological Review, China Quarterly, the Journal of Asian Studies, and New Left Review. She is also the founding chair of the Society for Hong Kong Studies.

Professor Lee received degrees from both the Chinese University of Hong Kong and the University of California at Berkeley, and her approach to education reflects her own synthesized and multicultural experience. For instance, she teaches both undergraduate and graduate courses on ethnographic methodology, sociological theory and contemporary China. She has given keynote lectures in universities around the world, and has served on a number advisory boards to enhance research and pedagogical standards. She has also helped steer a number of research centers in their mission to promote labor and employment research, gender studies, social theory and, of course, China studies.

钟士元博士教授席
李静君教授
社会科学部讲座教授

钟士元博士社会科学教授李静君过去 25年来一直在当代中国发展研究中,提出社会学创见,其学术着作以中国劳工阶层的独特视野,追踪中国资本主义的变化,备受推崇。她採取深入的比较民族誌研究方法,挑战从马克思劳工政治理论到资本主义和社会主义概念的传统思维。

李教授一直研究不懈,分析中国日益全球化的发展。她现正进行的一项研究以中国多面、强势的参与及其公眾回应為脉络,探究香港作為「全球化中国」前线的角色。这项计划延续李教授研究专着的叁部曲:她分析中国跃升為「世界工厂」、从社会主义国家过渡至资本主义国家过程中劳工抗争的不同模式、以及中国在非洲的国家投资的政治。

李教授是全球化、政治社会学及全球南营发展的研究权威,以理论分析、比较民族誌研究方法见称。她的学术专着屡获殊荣,包括着名的李文森奖、爱丽丝・安士敦书奖、非洲亚洲研究书籍奖以及美国社会学会多个最佳着作奖。她是新泽西州普林斯顿大学高等研究院、史丹福大学行為科学高等研究中心和威尔逊国际学人中心的学者。她的创新见解多见于着名学术期刊,包括《美国社会学期刊》、《美国社会学评论》、《中国季刊》、《亚洲研究期刊》和《新左翼评论》。她也是香港学会的创会主席。

李教授在香港中文大学和加州柏克莱大学获取学位。她的教学也体现了她自身糅合的多元文化体验,以教学為例,她教授民族誌方法、社会学理论及当代中国的本科和研究生课程。她在世界各地大学发表主题演讲,并出任多个顾问委员会成员,以提升研究及教学水平。她亦协助推动成立多个研究中心,促进劳工及就业研究、性别研究、社会理论,当然少不了中国研究这范畴。