The Fourth Inauguration Ceremony of Named Professorships 2017

The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) held the Fourth Inauguration Ceremony of Named Professorships on 27 October, 2017 to confer named professorships on 15 outstanding faculty members. The named professorship appointments are intended to foster the University's education and research excellence by giving due recognition to the exceptional faculty.

Newly Appointed Holders
Newly appointed professorship holders
Professor Andrew Cohen
Director, HKUST Jockey Club Institute for Advanced Study
Chair Professor, Department of Physics, HKUST
Lam Woo Foundation Professor
Professor Bright Sheng
Leonard Bernstein Distinguished University Professor of Composition, University of Michigan
IAS Helmut and Anna Pao Sohmen Professor-at-Large
Professor George Smoot
Chair Professor, Department of Physics
IAS TT & WF Chao Foundation Professor
Professor Peiyuan Qian
Chair Professor, Division of Life Science
David von Hansemann Professor of Science
Professor Vic Law
Associate Professor, Department of Physics
Dr. Tai-chin Lo Associate Professor of Science
Professor Tom Cheung
Associate Professor, Division of Life Science
S H Ho Associate Professor of Life Science
Professor Mohamed Ghidaoui
Chair Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Chinese Estate Professor of Engineering
Professor Charles Ng
Chair Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Associate Vice-President for Research and Development
President, International Society for Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering
CLP Holdings Professor of Sustainability
Professor Tianshou Zhao
Chair Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Director, HKUST Energy Institute
Cheong Ying Chan Professor of Engineering and Environment
Professor Mingyi Hung
Professor Jaideep Sengupta
Chair Professor, Department of Marketing
Synergis-Geoffrey YEH Professor of Business
Professor James Y L Thong
Chair Professor, Department of Information Systems, Business Statistics and Operations Management
Michael Jebsen Professor of Business